Scholarship Information

JCI La Crosse and the La Crosse Jaycees Foundation partner to offer two $1,000 scholarships to La Crosse, WI area high school seniors (schools included: Logan, Central, Aquinas, 7 Rivers, Onalaska, Onalaska Luther, Holmen, West Salem, G-E-T, Melrose/Mindoro, and Bangor). 

Selection is based on community involvement, community service, leadership roles, and volunteer activities. Each applicant must complete the application form, write an essay explaining how the Jaycee Creed (shown below) relates to their own values and vision, and submit at least two letters of recommendation from teachers, coaches, school counselor, employer, etc. The application form becomes available in February each year. Winners will be selected in April, and the certificate will be presented in May at the scholarship awards ceremony at the recipient’s school. (Scholarship will not be disbursed until proof of enrollment for the Fall semester is received from the winner’s college of attendance.)

Please take into consideration the following items:

  • Emphasis will be placed on community involvement/community service/leadership roles and volunteer activities.
  • Letters of Recommendation must be signed by the individual who wrote the letter and list the applicant’s name clearly at the top of the letter.  These can be emailed, mailed separately or included with the applicant’s application.  If they are not received by the deadline, they will not be considered.

Jaycees Creed:
We Believe . . .
That faith in God gives meaning and purpose to human life;
That the brotherhood of man transcends the sovereignty of nations;
That economic justice can best be won by free men through free enterprise;
That government should be of laws rather than of men;
That earth’s great treasure lies in human personality; 
And that service to humanity is the best work of life.”

Current and Former Winners

2023 Recipients: Shealyn Bahr – Aquinas High School & Sam Kearny – Aquinas High School
2022 Recipient: Caeli McMahon – Melrose-Mindoro High School
2021 Recipient: None – no applications received
2020 Recipient: Thomas Lenz – Logan High School
2019 Recipient: Alexa Breske – Holmen High School